Jiving with the Flow

When we think of yoga we tend to think about the chill, peaced-out, and blissful state yoga practice can induce.  I’ve been writing about how my yoga practice is training me to focus on the moment I’m in, when I’m in it. In today’s class I did it, and it was powerful!

Now I’m not going to say, “I’ve got it”, because I know that a meaningful understanding includes the continued refinement of the psycho-spiritual. That said, while we were in parivrtta (revolved) janu (knee) sirsasana (sirsa: head), I felt the zen of mind-body-spirit connection.

Parivrtta Janu Sirsasana, from YogaSuthra

Parivrtta Janu Sirsasana, from YogaSuthra

Upon initiating the side bend, my mind was busy telling me that this is a good pose for me because I’m flexible. I still get caught up in the mentality of perfectionism — getting it exactly the way it’s supposed to look, which both distracts and compels me. (Many) Years ago I trained for four hours a day as a competitive synchronized swimmer, and we used a variation of this for warm-up. So I’ve been doing this stretch/pose/asana for most of my life and my muscles know where they need to go, or at least, this is the thought that guides me when I do it.

As I breathed into the pose, I felt myself stretch farther than I’ve ever stretched. It felt as though I could go on and on, moving my torso into the floor, and as I did this I felt the zen of the asana. I was energized and relaxed. Enlightened.

I’ll leave you with a design created by Rick and Dahlia Rondeau of What Up OMie? that’s as profound as it is cute. It’s on a T-shirt I just ordered from them today.

enlighten up

6 thoughts on “Jiving with the Flow

  1. So far, I’ve tried only a little yoga and a little mindfulness. But, as one of those people who lived for so long like the body was only there to carry my head around, I’m finding that making the mind-body connection is a rewarding and enlightening life-altering experience. It’s a life-affirming, life-giving experience.

    Gabor Mater’s book “When the Body Says No” really brought that home to me. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

